“Bicyle Diaries”

Not only is David Byrne co-founder of Talking Heads (surely 80s American Top 40 fans remember) ; he is also passionate about photography and riding bicycles. In other words, a man of fine pleasures!

In reading his Bicycle Diaries (Penguin Books – 2009), I imagine myself  by his side whizzing through cities that I have been to – Sydney, New York, Berlin, San Francisco, London and Istanbul – and simply enjoy the ride. His fun observations, light style, intelligible questions and out of the ordinary encounters bring back lively impressions…

I still smile about the time in 1996 when I rented a bicycle to visit Ayutthaya (capital of Thailand during the 12th century) and its magnificent temples. The tire went flat in mid-day sweltering heat as I followed the Chao Phraya river. I timidly walked down a private driveway where a man stood in his garage. Within seconds of communicating with sign language and nervous smiles, parts of my bicycle where flying around. And the tire was fixed. He wrote a note in Thai for me to take back to the shop. No cost to me, just great memories for my travel diaries.

Riding against traffic up Lexington Avenue when I lived in New York City was another of my brilliant ideas… Now living in Paris, I can’t get enough of the freedom and views one only experiences on wheels.

All this to conclude: with the autumn soon upon us and cozy throws for the sofa coming out of storage, grab a copy of Bicyle Diaries and let the good times role…

Non seulement David Byrne est-il co-fondateur de Talking Heads (fans du American Top 40 des années 80 se souviennent) ; il est également passionné de photo et ne quitte pas sa bicyclette. Autrement dit, a man after my own heart.

En lisant (en anglais) Bicycle Diaries (Penguin Books – 2009), je m’imagine pédalant à ses côtés à travers les villes que j’ai eu plaisir à visiter – Sydney, New York, Berlin, San Francisco, Londres et Istanbul – et me laisse porter. Ses remarques ludiques, son style léger, ses questions pleines de sens et ses rencontres qui sortent de l’ordinaire réveillent en moi des souvenirs super bien agréables…

Je souris encore de la journée où j’ai loué une bicyclette en 1996 pour découvrir Ayutthaya (capitale de la Thaïlande au XIIe siècle) et ses anciens temples. En pleine chaleur de mi-journée un pneu a crevé alors que je m’émerveillais le long de la rivière Chao Phraya. Timidement, je me suis approchée d’un autochtone qui bricolait dans son garage. Quelques secondes à peine entre un langage des mains improvisé et un sourire nerveux ont suffit pour voir voler des pièces de mon vélo! Et le pneu était réparé. Il a rédigé quelques mots en Thai pour le loueur. Aucun frais n’était indiqué à ma grande surprise, simplement de superbes souvenirs pour mon journal.

Remonter Lexington Avenue à contre sens à bicyclette lorsque j’habitais à New York était une autre de mes bonnes idées… Aujourd’hui à Paris, je ne me lasse toujours pas de la liberté que l’on ressent et des coups d’œil qui nous sont offerts – à bi-cy-clett-e.

Tout cela pour conclure: avec l’arrivée de l’automne et la sortie des plaids douillets du placard, un exemplaire de Bicyle Diaries en main et let the good times role

This entry was posted in Arts & Culture, Books, Visit / Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “Bicyle Diaries”

  1. Pingback: My bike and I | tristanedelapresle

Leave a comment